St Werburghs church at Spondon

Discount Hotel Accommodation in Derby - Hotels in Derby

Derby Guide - Guide to the City of Derby in Derbyshire

Saint Werburgh's Church in Spondon Derby

The present Parish Church of St Werburgh dates back to around 1390, when it was completed to replace an earlier church destroyed by fire, along with almost the entire village, in 1340. It was restored again in 1826 and then again in 1891. It has a west tower with a spire recessed below the battlements and a large nave with 3 bay arcades to the wide aisles.

It has a peal of six bells, one of which is 16th century, one 17th and the remaining four of the 19th century. The fine organ dates from 1909, but with an electric action fitted in 1989. There is a lady chapel dedicated to St. Mary, which contains a First World War memorial. The royal arms displayed over the north (main) door is almost unique, there being only one other known example. It is dated between 1702 and 1707 because it displays the arms of Queen Ann before the union with Scotland.

Saint Werburgh was bom around 650, the daughter of King Wulfhere and Queen Ermenhilda of Mercia. Against her father's wishes for her to marry, she was determined to become a nun and was finally allowed to enter Ely Abbey. She subsequently became an Abbess, and finally senior Abbess of all Mercia. She died on 3rd February, 700 and her feast day is 3rd February. There are 17 churches dedicated to her in England, plus one in Dublin, one in West Australia, a village in Zimbabwe and lady chapels in Chester and Lichfield cathedrals.

More information can be found on St Werburgh's church website at

Derby Churches : The Derby Guide Homepage : Spondon

Spondon church
Spondon church

Derby City Guide : Disclaimer