Education in Derby
Derby Schools, Colleges and University

Derby Guide - Guide to the City of Derby in Derbyshire

Education in Derby - Derby Schools, Colleges and University

For a complete list of all primary schools, secondary schools and Independent schools throughout Derby please see Derby Schools - Information and contact numbers

Local Colleges and Derby University

Derby University from markeaton park
Derby University

Burton College
Covers the Burton-on-Trent and South Derbyshire areas.

Chesterfield College
Covers the Chesterfield area

Apart from schools and the university , educational provision for the city of Derby is provided by Derby College which was officially formed in 2002 as a result of the merger between Broomfield Agriculture College, Derby Tertiary College: Wilmorton and Mackworth College Derby. Since then Wilmorton College has been demolished and turned into a housing estate; and Derby College has built two new purpose built sites; The Joseph Wright Centre (JWC), which specialises in A' levels and in 2010 Derby College reported a 99% success rate for the second year in a row. The Roundhouse redevelopment is the College's flagship site with a focus on vocational qualifications. A merger between South East Derbyshire College and Derby College was approved on 2 February 2010.

Derby College has a number of campuses across Derbyshire:
The Roundhouse
Officially opened in 2010 by the Princess Royal and accompanied by the Lord Lieutenant of Derbyshire. The Roundhouse (RH) is dedicated to vocational and BTEC courses such as ICT, Construction, Engineering, Hair & Beauty, Art & Design and Catering & Hospitality. As part of the Hair & Beauty faculty and also the Catering and Hospitality course, the Roundhouse incorporates the SENSI hairdressing, holistics & beauty salon, and The Engine Shed Restaurant, which are open to the public. The Roundhouse is also the home of the main Derby College Student Union (DCSU) office. Being based at Pride Park in the heart of Derby, it is in close proximity to all major transport links, adjacent to the Derby Midland railway station and Derby Bus Station is located walking distance from the college.

Joseph Wright Centre
Joseph Wright Centre (JWC) Located in Derby City Centre. This site holds over 1,500 students and has three floors, ground, first, second and third floors. With access for disabled students, there are two lifts going both up and down the building and a third in the extension. A canteen is also at the students service. This site is a sixth form college. It opened in 2005, and was extended in the next two years. Courses include A' Levels (Choice of 35 including extended project), Music, Media, ICT Level 3.

Broomfield Hall (BH) Located on the A608 near Morley, Ilkeston, with 450 acres (1.8 km2) of land and was built in 1870. This site has residential housing for students. It is the home to Aboriculture, Agriculture, Animal Care, Conservation and Countryside, Equine, Floristry and Flower Arranging, Horticulture and Public Services courses. This used to be an independent agricultural college. It is also technically outside of Derby LEA, in Derbyshire and the Erewash district.

The Ilkeston campus is a purpose built community campus in the heart of Ilkeston town centre.

South East Derbyshire College
The largest local provider of post-16 education

University of Derby
Currently home to more than 20,000 students and offers a wide range of courses.

Derby City Guide : Disclaimer